University council

The University Council is the highest policy for the working organ of the university.

The University Council is responsible for setting the strategy for the growth and development of the university, ensuring that there are effectiveness and efficiency in the university systems and accountability.

The Council comprises eleven members.

The majority of the council members are from outside the University, the ‘lay’ members. They contribute to a wide range of experience and expertise from different sectors. Lay members are also usually expected to participate in one or more of the Council’s sub-committees.

All members exercise their responsibilities in the interests of the University as a whole rather than as representatives of any constituency.

The university maintains a register of interests of members of the council, which is available online for public scrutiny. All members are expected to attend scheduled meetings as regularly as possible.

Although technically members are charity trustees, their role is similar to that of the non-executive directors of a company. They have collective responsibility for council decisions and as with all governing bodies, must respect the clear distinction between their strategic governance role and that of operational management of the institution this latter role being played by the University Executive Board chaired by the Vice-Chancellor.

Council members bring to its deliberations a wide range of knowledge and expertise and apply balanced and disinterested judgment to these deliberations. Their main assets are their independence and objectivity.